Sunday Times Books LIVE Community Sign up

Login to Sunday Times Books LIVE

Forgotten password?

Forgotten your password?

Enter your username or email address and we'll send you reset instructions

Sunday Times Books LIVE

Centre for Creative Arts

@ Sunday Times Books LIVE

2015 Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award to be Announced at Poetry Africa

The Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry AnthologyThe annual Sol Plaatje European Union Poetry Award is now in its fifth year.

Named after Solomon Tshekisho Plaatje (1876 – 1932), it recognises the life and vision of this highly respected political and social activist. As in previous years, Volume V of the series will anthologise the three shortlisted poems along with some 60 other poems on the longlist, which are written in an assortment of South African languages, including English, Afrikaans, Sepedi, Sesotho, Xitsonga and isiZulu.

The longlisted poets to be included in the 2015 Sol Plaatje EU Poetry Anthology are: Jim Pascual Agustin; Karin Andersen; Carel Aäron Anthonissen; Caroline F Archer; Saaleha Idrees Bamjee; Fadwah Booley; Steven Bresler; Sindiswa Busuku-Mathese; Arthur Benjamin Cloete; Eckhard Cloete; Leonard Entienne Cloete; Margaret Clough; Christine M Coates; Corné Coetzee; Genna Gardini; Sunelle Geyer; Shawn Greyling; Kerry Hammerton; Suenel Holloway; Morwamphaka Maisela Sello Huma; Musawenkosi Khanyile; Lara Kirsten; Thandanani Christopher Mabaso; Katise Mawela; Mokoena Mlondolozi; Thabiso Michael Mofokeng; Tsietsi Mokhele; Che Kgahliso Moshesh; Moses Mtileni; Madoda Ndlakuse; Pamela Newham; Mzu Nhlabatsi; Sizakele Nkosi; Zukisani Nongogo; Lazola Pambo; Francine Simon; Annette Snyckers; David C Steyn; Gisela Ullyatt; Athol Williams; Sue Woodward; Frank Wright

The hard work undertaken by this jury behind the scenes to select 63 poems out of the 472 entries received was imperative to the creation of a well-curated anthology.

The longlist was compiled by a jury of three distinguished South African poets: Johann de Lange, Goodenough Mashego and Joan Metelerkamp.

From the longlist of poems, senior judge Mongane Wally Serote, winner of the prestigious Golden Wreath Award, has selected the three finalists for this year’s award.

In no particular order, the three shortlisted poems are:

  • Jim Pascual Agustin, for “Baleka, What do You Know of Tenders and Thieves? Or Cockroaches for that Matter?”
  • Sindiswa Busuku-Mathese, for “A Portrait of a Mother and Indiscretion”
  • Athol Williams, for “Streetclass Diseases”

The winners will all receive cash prizes.

How these poems have been placed, and the overall winner, will be announced at an event hosted by Poetry Africa at 6 PM on Saturday, 17 October, at Rivertown Beerhall. The anthology will be launched earlier the same day, at 3 PM at 8 Morrison Street.

Tickets for the festival finale at Rivertown cost R70 presale or R80 at the door and can be purchased from Computicket.

For more information go to or like the Facebook page PoetryAfrica or on Twitter follow @PoetryAfrica.

Presented by the Centre for Creative Arts (University of KwaZulu-Natal) and made possible by support from the eThekwini Municipality, KZN Department of Arts and Culture, National Arts Council and the Goethe Institut. The Centre for Creative Arts is housed in the College of Humanities at the University of KwaZulu-Natal and is a special project of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Cheryl Potgieter.

Book details


Please register or log in to comment